+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Full-time work under Co-op permit

3dom

Sep 29, 2020
Hi guys,
I am in a pickle of a situation. I'm in my second year of a two-year Marketing program. My program has a mandatory 150 h co-op requirement - I started my internship on April 1, and by the end of summer, my employer offered to extend it with a prospect of a full-time position in the future. My current permit states that I can work no more than 50% of my studies - which is fine with me. I called the immigration officer in my province, and she confirmed that I could continue working if my school is ok with it. I connected with my program advisor - she and other teachers were supportive and agreed to let me move at my own pace. Although the program officially has only 150 h for co-op, an integral part of other courses is working with real companies and implementing the knowledge we get. Despite this, I still doubted whether I'm doing the right thing, which resulted in my call to IRCC. The officer wasn't sure what to say in my situation, but after contemplating a while, he told me that if I work beyond 150 h - I will end up in trouble with my next permit. Did anyone have a similar experience? What would you guys advise me? Thanks in advance!

primaprime

VIP Member
Apr 6, 2019
I called the immigration officer in my province
Who would that be?

Keep in mind the IRCC call centre does not give legal advice. Personally, I don't think you can just keep working without the employer getting an LMIA for a closed work permit.

Impatient Dankaroo

VIP Member
Jan 10, 2020
So upon the conclusion of your co-op term did you change your program path to include another co-op semester? Or are you working full time and taking classes?

3dom

Sep 29, 2020
Who would that be?

Keep in mind the IRCC call centre does not give legal advice. Personally, I don't think you can just keep working without the employer getting an LMIA for a closed work permit.