+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Expired PR card for 3 years. Pls help

Patricia27

May 13, 2013
Hi, I got my PR card in 2005 and have stayed only in canada for about a total of 6 weeks. I had to return to my home country to finish my studies because we can't afford school in canada. I was only 13 then, and my mom is the only one working for us. I can't even afford a school trip back then. I am now a college graduate and I would want to return to Canada, but my PR expired in 2010 and I have not met my residency obligation. I am now 20 years old. I was accompanied by my father who maintained his PR status by going back and forth in Canada (He is not working for any Canadian business or Canadian government). I just want to know if I lost my PR status already and what should I do? Thank you in advance for your response!

zardoz

VIP Member
Feb 2, 2013
Canada
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
16-02-2013
VISA ISSUED...
31-07-2013
LANDED..........
09-11-2013
You will need to follow the instructions at http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/information/applications/travel.asp

You may also wish to read http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/resources/manuals/op/op10-eng.pdf as it's relevant to your situation.

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Could not afford school in Canada? As far as I know, school in Canada is free when you are 13 years old.

In any case, you are in the situation of having been removed from Canada as a minor by your parents and wishing to return first chance after becoming an adult. That gives you a pretty strong case for a travel document but you should not wait too long to apply for it, the sooner you do it, the better is your chance.