+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Eligibility for work immediately after applying for the PGWP (as a graduate with two "part-time" semesters)?

jokepoke

Feb 27, 2020
Hi,
I'm an American graduate from a QC University who is applying for my PGWP from within Canada. I had severe mental health problems for two semesters when I was in school and did not finish the 4 classes that I needed in those semesters for them to have been considered "full-time" status. I'm aware that I have to explain this in my application and that my chances are lower for it to be approved, but It is not clear to me if I will be allowed to work instantly after I apply online and get implied status or not.

The cic.gc.ca website says the following, which leads me to believe that I can work immediately, as I appear to qualify for all 4 of these:
"You can work full-time while waiting for a decision on your post-graduation work permit application if, at the time you submitted your application, you:
  • had a valid study permit,
  • had completed your program of study,
  • were eligible to work off-campus without a permit, and
  • did not work off-campus more than 20 hours a week during academic sessions.”
The Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations do not go into much detail about this in what I think is the relevant section (in paragraphs v and w of section 186): https://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/regulations/SOR-2002-227/section-186.html. It does mention that I would need to be a full-time student, but it’s not clear to me if I do not qualify, as I have been considered a full-time student since those two semesters.

If I can't work immediately, this would leave me in a very tough situation, as I can't really apply for it at the US/CA border in the near foreseeable future with all that's going on.

Would appreciate any of your thoughts on this.

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12
Hi,