+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Driving licence in BC

stu2

Aug 13, 2018
Hi everyone!

I am a recent graduate from a Canadian university and am now on my PGWP visa. I have a few questions regarding getting a licence in BC which I could find no clear answer to on be ICBC website.

1. When does the 3 months to exchange your licence start for graduating students? Is it after graduation or after the PGWP comes into effect? I have been away from Canada since I graduated in May so have not been able to exchange my licence.

2. Who needs a driving record to prove driving experience? I have over three years of driving experience in Mexico and my licence is over three years old, but getting a driving record is close to impossible before the three months are up.

3. Can I obtain an L then obtain a full licence after I prove my experience in Mexico? For example, if I missed the 90 day benchmark so I obtain an L to practice, but since I have my full licence in Mexico, can I take a driving exam for full class 5 licence once I feel ready and confident on Vancouver roads?

Thanks for any help! The ICBC website is not very helpful for me so I appreciate any advice.

badar14

Champion Member
May 5, 2012
Vancouver
Category........
FSW
Visa Office......
London
NOC Code......
App. Filed.......
02-05-2010
LANDED..........
06-Aug-2013
Hi everyone!

I am a recent graduate from a Canadian university and am now on my PGWP visa. I have a few questions regarding getting a licence in BC which I could find no clear answer to on be ICBC website.