+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Does Air Canada swipe PR card or just look at it.

stan.koekepan

Oct 22, 2018
Hey Folks,

I have an issue, I'm travelling to San Francisco from Calgary for 4 days this week (friday-monday).
I have been a Canadian permanent resident since 2013, but my card expired end of may 2018.
I applied for a new card, IRCC got the application on june 19. I should have received my new card mid-september (according to the wait time posted online and a IRCC agent I contacted)
When I heard nothing for a while, I applied for urgent processing. A few days later I get an email stating my card was sent on october 11. The problem is however, they sent it to the wrong address. I contacted them again and gave them an alternate address (because they seemed to have problems with the preferred address).

Because the card has to be sent back to sydney and then to calgary, it will likely not arrive before friday.
I contacted Air Canada, Canadian Border Agency, IRCC, none of them are willing to help me.
Eventually I went to my local member of parliament, who is going to contact IRCC to help me get a PRTD before i leave (i'm only in the USA for 4 days so no time to get it there).

Now, when all this fails, and I wont receive my PR or PRTD before friday, is there a chance i can board my flight back to Canada with my expired PR card?
Tl;dr: AKA does Air Canada scan my PR card or just look at it?

Thank you

vensak

VIP Member
Jul 14, 2016
Category........
Visa Office......
Vienna
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
they do scan it. So your expired PR card will not be accepted. However you can cross USA borders using private vehicle. In that case you can use even your expired PR card to get it (most likely you will end up in secondary review, but once they will check your situation you will not have problems).

stan.koekepan

Oct 22, 2018