+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Documents to attach with PRC Renewal Application

PRC.Renewal

Aug 30, 2018
Hi Everyone,

A newbie here. I'm applying for PRC renewal and have been living here for almost 2.5 years. Just wondering what documents should I sent with the PRC renewal application to avoid delays/secondary review etc? Thanks

dpenabill

VIP Member
Apr 2, 2010
Hi Everyone,

A newbie here. I'm applying for PRC renewal and have been living here for almost 2.5 years. Just wondering what documents should I sent with the PRC renewal application to avoid delays/secondary review etc? Thanks
Assume you have already visited the IRCC site and information for how-to-apply for new PRC, but to be sure, the information can be found here:
https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/application/application-forms-guides/application-renew-replace-permanent-resident-card.html

Follow the instructions, per the application form (IMM 5444), the Instruction Guide (IMM 5445), and the checklist (IMM 5644), and submit documents accordingly. And be sure to HONESTLY, ACCURATELY, and COMPLETELY provide the requested information.

Risk of Secondary Review depends on particular facts of the case. Not much the PR can do to avoid a referral if the circumstances are such that a referral is otherwise likely. Thus, additional, extra documents are NOT likely to have any significant influence in whether or not the PRC application is referred for Secondary Review, unless something about them or in them invites questions and triggers a referral when otherwise processing would have been routine.

That is, if the routine review without extra documents is likely to be referred to SR, the file is indeed likely to be referred to SR without regard to any additional, extra documentation submitted with the application.