+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

DIVORCED DEPENDANT PR.S

INTEGRITY

May 21, 2010
Pls help its urgent,
I am a Canadian Permanent Resident card holder, but now in Scotland because of my academic program I started before we were granted PR Visa. But to my greatest surprise, just a month to finishing my academic program and finially move to join her in Canada, she file in for divorce from Canada, after 15 years of marriage. And she even told me that she has already changed to another name after the divorce. But that I should expect a divorce paper for me to sign. Men, I can't believe this. Its just like a dream. Its absolutely crazy. I am so shattered with this development that I can't even concentrate in my studies. And God knows I truely love my wife.
Unfortunately, she is the principal applicant while I am her dependant (Husband) who financed this whole immigration project from A - Z. Infact, I feel cheated.
QUESTION: As a divorced "dependant" husband, with PR Card already with me, do I still have right to enter into Canada next month and continue my life? Will I be restricted from entering Canada, considering this unexpected development from a wicked wife who has changed her maiden name? Will I be ask about my marital status at POE? How does this development affect my immigration status in Canada? Pls help its urgent.
Please help.

Siouxie

Sep 15, 2008
Ontario
Visa Office......
Vegreville / London UK
App. Filed.......
16-02-2005
LANDED..........
26=01=2010
Presumably you have already "landed" and secured your PR status - you say that you hold a PR card.

If this is the case then you are free to return to Canada and continue you life, providing you have the necessary residency obligations to retain PR. The pending divorce does not affect your immigration status what-so-ever as you are already a landed immigrant.