Aug 8, 2011
Category........
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
not yet
Hi all,
I am a dentist, schooled and qualified in Nigeria with over 5 years clinical experience. I am planning to apply for the Skilled worker visa.
Since dentistry is a closed occupation in canada, do i still go ahead to apply, after which I'll write exams for accreditation when I get to canada, or would I have to do other jobs(not as a dentist) in canada until I am accredited to practice in canada.
Also, might I be given the visa based on the NOC I entered(dentist) even though I havnt started the accreditation process??

mandiebraxton

VIP Member
Mar 7, 2011
As far as the guide is concerned, you need to have at least one year full time experience in your chosen field, within the past 10 yrs. The duties should reflect those mentioned under the ministerial instructions here:
http://www5.hrsdc.gc.ca/NOC/English/NOC/2006/ProfileQuickSearch.aspx?val=3&val1=3113&val65=*

Main duties
Dentists perform some or all of the following duties:•Examine patients' teeth, gums and surrounding tissue to diagnose disease, injury and decay and plan appropriate treatment
•Restore, extract and replace diseased and decayed teeth
•Perform oral surgery, periodontal surgery and other treatments
•Clean teeth and instruct patients on oral hygiene
•Design bridgework, fit dentures and provide appliances to correct abnormal positioning of the teeth and jaws, or write fabrication instructions or prescriptions for use by denturists and dental technicians
•Supervise dental hygienists, dental assistants and other staff.
•Dentists may specialize in such areas as oral and maxillofacial surgery, orthodontics, pediatric dentistry, periodontics, endodontics, prosthodontics, oral pathology, oral radiology or public health dentistry.