+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Decision made too quickly???

Tara_W

Apr 8, 2009
Hey folks,

Thanks a million for all the great advice and information up here- it's brilliant.

I'm a Canadian currently resident in Ireland, and my Irish partner and I are going through the sponsorship process. We posted our completed application in mid-April, which included medical, background check and full payment and checking online today, there's been an update:

DECISION MADE

"We received your application to sponsor XXXXXXX on April 20, 2009.

We started processing your application on May 11, 2009.

We sent you a letter on May 11, 2009 about the decision on your application. Please consider delays in mail delivery before contacting us."

Is this a good sign or a bad sign? This is just for the sponsorship part; there's no mention of the application for Permanent Residency, which I'm assuming is now going to be sent to London, UK for further processing. I hope anyway. Provided my sponsorship application was approved.

Any advice please to put my mind at rest? I've posted here before and we're a pretty routine case. I was born in Canada to Canadian parents, my parents and family have since returned there from Ireland and now reside, medical and background checks were all fine and we have plenty of proof with regard to our relationship and intention to re-establish over there.

Thanks!
Tara

MARLENA

Mar 24, 2009
In my opinion I will say it'a a good sign for approval... I find first stage is easy but the second one is the most critical one.

msgomez

Star Member
Dec 5, 2008
Canada
Tara_W no worries! Seems like your sponsorship was approved. The 1st part (the sponsorship part) usually takes between 2 to 3 weeks... it's done pretty quick. It's the 2nd part, the permanent residence app that's processed abroad that takes a little longer and where all the scrutinizing is done.

Hang in there and best of luck to you!

Rasha

Apr 26, 2008