+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

(DACA and F1) Questions regarding immigration

dreamer1201

May 25, 2021
Hello,

My girlfriend and I are seriously looking into immigrating to Canada. It seems like the best solution for the both of us since we are in an interesting situation given the DACA + F1 visa relationship...

Some background information:

-I am currently a DACA recipient (had it before I turned 18) and my girlfriend is currently on F1 visa (she is currently on OPT which expires 7/2022)
-We both have bachelor’s degrees (mine is in life sciences and hers is in engineering)
-I have around 4 years of experience working as a pharmacy technician, and 2+ years of experience working in the pharma/biotech industry
-GF has around 2 years working in pharma
-I will turn 26 this year and my GF will be 24
-I believe that both of our scores will be in the mid 400’s (assuming that we both do well on the IELTS exam)

I was hoping to get more information/clarifications on the process as there is a large amount of information out there.

I believe that both of us should be eligible for the EE program, but I’m not sure where to get started.

-Is an attorney required/recommended (does anyone have any recommendations? I reached out to MyVisaSource but I have seen some skepticism online).
-What do we do if we cannot find the exact NOC code match for our jobs? For example, I work as a Quality Assurance Analyst for a pharma company but I didn’t see that listed. I’m also not sure if we would be considered Skill Level A or B.
-Silly question, but how “difficult” is it to immigrate to Canada through EE?
-Another silly question, how can we increase our chances of being invited/selected? My GF has previously taken the IELTS exam when she was young and said it was really easy. We will both study and prepare to get the best score, but we’re confident that we can reach a high score.