+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Conjugal partner question

Stums

Jan 30, 2018
Hi all,

I (male) am a Canadian citizen and have been with my girlfriend for about 6 months now. We just started living together. She is currently on a working holiday visa from Korea since March 2017 but it ends in March 2018. We plan on having her apply for a visitor visa which would last 6 months and apply for an extension which would last another 6 months and then I can sponsor her as common law.

We talked to an agency and they said that she will probably get declined for the visitor visa extension because she was already here for 1 year on the working holiday visa.

I was hoping that if she gets declined and had to go back to Korea then I can sponsor her as a conjugal partner since we would have been together for 1 year and reason is her visitor visa being declined (immigration barrier preventing us from becoming common law).

I am an engineer and have my own house, so I can support her financially until she can get her permanent residence and start working.

But I was reading some posts here regarding conjugal partner and it seems like it's very hard to get. So I was wondering if anyone go of give advice on our specific situation.

Would immigration officers just tell us to get married because there aren't any religious reasons for not getting married? Reason why we aren't getting married: we love each other but it would be irresponsible to get married at 6 months.

A lot of posts about conjugal partner are giving advice that people should just live together for a year and become common law. How are foreigners able to stay in Canada consecutively for a year?

Thank you and I hope I provided enough information.

jordo

Apr 27, 2014
Regina, SK
Choosing not to marry and creating the barrier yourself won't qualify you for conjugal.