+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

common law partner sponsorship

ervdm

Nov 15, 2018
Hello everyone, I am a Canadian citizen born in Mexico (I have a double nationality) I have been studying in Mexico for the last 3 years which means I been in Canada working only in my vacation periods, winter break and summers, I would like to sponsor my partner but I am not sure if I am considered as I am living exclusively outside of Canada given the fact that I have been spending more than half the year out of the country for the last 3 years, we will move to Canada after I'm done medical school in one more year, we want to start the application process as soon as possible. all the comments are very much appreciated!

np08

Jan 13, 2015
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
Mississauga, OT
App. Filed.......
Feb 09, 2018
AOR Received.
Mar 07, 2018
Med's Request
Aug 8, 2018
Med's Done....
Aug 13, 2018
LANDED..........
Dec 18, 2018
In order to qualify for common law, you need to live with your partner for at least 12 months continuously. It doesn't matter if it's outside of Canada. Have you and your common law partner been living together for at least a year? If yes (and you can prove it, of course), you qualify as common law.

As a Canadian citizen, you can start an outland application from outside of Canada. You will just have to later on show intent to return to Canada.

ervdm

Nov 15, 2018
In order to qualify for common law, you need to live with your partner for at least 12 months continuously. It doesn't matter if it's outside of Canada. Have you and your common law partner been living together for at least a year? If yes (and you can prove it, of course), you qualify as common law.

As a Canadian citizen, you can start an outland application from outside of Canada. You will just have to later on show intent to return to Canada.