+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Common Law or Express Entry?

jalch91

Dec 8, 2018
My (27F Canadian) partner of 2 years (living together continuously 1 full year) is preparing to sponsor me (27M English) to live in BC. Looking at sponsorship times of 12 months vs Express Entry of 10 months (including the 4 remaining months I need to work at my job to be eligible).
Which has a higher chance of success vs fastest way?

Add. info: I have a masters degree, speak fluent english, no french, worked 2 years in BC as various NOC category C jobs and now work in UK in NOC category B. We have plenty of proof of relationship EXCEPT reasons we're not married yet as it's not religious but more ethical and financial reasoning.

Last edited:

King.bill

Star Member
Dec 6, 2018
My (27F Canadian) partner of 2 years (living together continuously 1 full year) is preparing to sponsor me (27M English) to live in BC. Looking at sponsorship times of 12 months vs Express Entry of 9 months (including the 3 remaining months I need to work at my job to be eligible).
Which has a higher chance of success vs fastest way?

Add. info: I have a masters degree, speak fluent english, no french, worked 2 years in BC as various NOC category C jobs and now work in UK in NOC category B. We have plenty of proof of relationship EXCEPT reasons we're not married yet as it's not religious but more ry and financial reasoning.
Express Entry. Too bad your Canadian experience is Type C or you would have already qualified under CEC.
Current FSW processing time appears to be 6 months while spousal sponsorship is 12 months.

jalch91

Dec 8, 2018
Thanks for replying! I've seen the 6/12 months but which has a higher chance of success? The EE is a pool so risky whereas the common law sponsorship is case by case. But is our case strong enough to be more successful than EE?