+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Clarification around restrictions associated with Open Work Permit.

Daviddejongh

Apr 18, 2018
I have an open work permit and recently noticed that there are restictions associated with working in the areas of child care and in the health sector. I have a Bachelor Degree in Social Work and my credentials have been assessed as being suitable to work in Alberta as a Social Worker. My area of expertise is in child protection, could anyone tell me whether i am permit to work as a case manager in the field of child welfare or as a social worker in the health sector or am I excluded from being able to working in these areas.

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Hi

I have an open work permit and recently noticed that there are restictions associated with working in the areas of child care and in the health sector. I have a Bachelor Degree in Social Work and my credentials have been assessed as being suitable to work in Alberta as a Social Worker. My area of expertise is in child protection, could anyone tell me whether i am permit to work as a case manager in the field of child welfare or as a social worker in the health sector or am I excluded from being able to working in these areas.
1. If you work with children at all, or in the health sector you need a medical exam from a Panel Physician and then get the restriction removed from your work permit.

Reactions: CdnwifeUSwife

Daviddejongh

Apr 18, 2018
Thanks, PMM, are you aware of the closest Panel of Physician to Bonnyville that can conduct this medical exam and what the next process is to have these restrictions removed post receiving medical clearance.

shannon388

Dec 15, 2017
Thanks Thronion, can you please explain what you mean by flagpole the border
Flagpole is:
1. go to the nearest Canada-USA border,
2. get an Administrative Refusal (this is harmless) from US CBP,
3. then come back to Canada, and speak with CBSA about your permit.