+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Clarification about Income Tax Requirements

_KK8512_

Star Member
Aug 27, 2018
Hey all,

As those of you applying for citizenship probably know, there is a condition stating that applicants must meet personal income tax obligations in 3 tax years fully or partially in the 5 years preceding the time the application is submitted.

My case is as follows: I came to Canada in December 2013 as an International Student. I finished grad school in February 2016 and I got my PGWP and I have been working since March 2016. In May 2016 I applied to Express Entry as I was eligible for it and in November 2016 my application was accepted and I got PR status. By December 2018, I will be eligible based on the number of days I have been in Canada.

I have been filing taxes all years since 2014 (2013 I came on Xmas day and obviously I didn't work so those 5 days won't make a ton of difference). As I understand it, as a student I wasn't required to file taxes since I had no income basically. From 2016 onwards I worked so I filed taxes the regular way. As I understand the income tax requirement, I think that I have fulfilled that condition.

Question: am I clear to apply for citizenship by December 2018 ?

Another interpretation of IRCC's requirement, in my opinion, is that I need to show IRCC tax filings in 3 tax years where I am required to do so. If it is the latter, then I need to file my 2018 income tax return before I can apply for citizenship, so I would need to wait until next year. That is the part that is not 100% clear, in my opinion.

Your views and answers are most appreciated :)

Avadava

Oct 11, 2013
Vancouver
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
Vienna
App. Filed.......
December 3, 2013
AOR Received.
Stage 1 AOR + SA January 8, 2014
File Transfer...
January 12, 2014
Med's Request
Further Medical Tests Requested: October 24, 2013
Med's Done....
October 15, 2013
Interview........
Waived
Passport Req..