+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Changing Status from Student to Refugee Claimant

jinglebell0123

Jun 4, 2021
Burnaby, Canada
Category........
Other
Hello, I'm an international student here in Burnaby, BC but haven't started my studies yet. I want to apply for refugee protection. How should I start and is it like a website to visit and fill forms or what are my first steps? thank you for anyone helping me with this.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Hello, I'm an international student here in Burnaby, BC but haven't started my studies yet. I want to apply for refugee protection. How should I start and is it like a website to visit and fill forms or what are my first steps? thank you for anyone helping me with this.
You should be aware that there are huge risk applying for asylum versus studying and then eventually qualifying for PR. Unless you know you will be guaranteed PR you risk not being able to remain in Canada and travelling to other countries. Please consult many Canadian immigration lawyer before making this decision. Are you from a country where there is a high probability of asylum. It is difficult to get a study permit from most of those countries. You will also have to withdraw from your studies.

Reactions: hba152 and Tmon

Jej

Sep 10, 2020
A settlement worker would be also be able to support you as a start as lawyers can be expensive they are familiar with all the paperwork information. Check out Issofbc Settlement Orientation Services (SOS) and Mosaic. Here are some links:
1.https://www.mosaicbc.org/services/settlement/students/
2. https://www.mosaicbc.org/services/settlement/rsip/