+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Changing NOC after ITA due reference letter position

Sep 7, 2015
Hi everyone.

Recently I got an ITA under the Federal Skilled Worker program (FSW) My CRS is 465. My NOC code was 2133 (electronics engineer) since I'm an ASIC's verification engineer... After an exhausting battle against the human resources section of my company, I managed to get a reference letter, it states that my duties were ASICs verification and other correct stuff, but the position states that I'm a "software engineer".

They told me they could only provide "generic reference letters" so they cannot change the position name even if they acknowledge that I was doing electronics engineering tasks... The lady there told me that they could notify that to CIC, that I was providing services related to electronics engineering if they get contacted, but they would NOT change the position name... (Weird isn't it?)

By the way, I have 4 years of experience, this is my first job and only position...

Since both NOC numbers are type A:

-Should I change my info from: 2133 (electronics engineer) to 2173 (Software engineer)?. As far I know, my score would be the same... I think I would have a heart attack if my application gets refused because of that.

-Should I reject the ITA and wait longer?.

-Should I keep everything and don't change anything and include a Letter Of Explanation? The lady from human resources told me that she could provide more information to CIC if she gets contacted, she even said so in the reference letter. As a note the reference letter is directed to CIC.

-Any other suggestions? Calling CIC for example?

Thanks in advance guys.

Anya654

May 13, 2015
United Kingdom
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
francisco_campos said:
Hi everyone.