+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

change of NOC code

DETCHIE

Oct 31, 2008
hi BC GUY and leon, presently i'm working here in alberta,canada under the low-skilled pilot project. i work as a warehouseman(noc code 7452). my employer wants to sponsor me to AINP but the code is not eligible. i'm a machine operator for 7 yrs back in the philippines. my employer and I wants to change it to metal working machine operator(noc code 9514/semi-skilled) but have no ideas on how to start . my employer is willing to train me as a machine operator.i still have 10 months before my 2-year contract expires. by the way, my company is a network of steel service centres providing a comprehensive range of products and services.
what steps should we take to change noc code 7452 to code 9514?

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Talk to Service Canada. Your employer might need a new LMO to change your work permit. The problem is that you are running out of time. Under the semi skilled program in AB, you have to work for 6 months before your employer can apply for your PNP nomination. If you have to get a new LMO to change NOC codes, then work for 6 months, your work permit is probably up and you have to leave for 4 months because that is the rule when you are not on a skilled permit. Of course you could then apply for a new permit and come back, work for 6 months again and then apply for PNP. Talk to the AINP about this as well. You can call them at 1-877-427-6419 Maybe they have some ideas on what you can do, maybe you don't have to work for 6 months before applying since you are staying with the same employer.

DETCHIE

Oct 31, 2008