+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Chances of admission into U Toronto and UBC

Ajjun

Dec 3, 2015
Hello
I'm a student from India looking to pusure my MS in chemical engineering from UBC or U Toronto.
I have a 8.9 GPA, 116 on my TOEFL and have more than 90% in my high school and secondary school.
I also have a research paper published in a national conference. What are my chances of getting into U Toronto and UBC?

nope

Oct 3, 2015
It's hard to say. I went to UofT almost 30 years ago as an international student from the States -- they didn't look at my GPA at all, only my SAT scores, since American high schools are known to be highly variable (Canadian high schools are considered to be much more comparable to each other). This might have changed in the years since, who knows -- I suspect though, that the Admissions office will look at standardized test scores more than high school averages, since the former are considered more impartial.

If you're competitive for the upper tier of universities in India, you will be competitive for UofT and UBC. UofT is not, actually, the Harvard of the North -- it is the University of California of the North, which in my opinion is better. It admits large numbers of people, and many of them are nothing special.

Personally, I consider the top rank of Canadian schools the best educational value in the world. Top-class, welcoming, amazing places to study, amazingly cheap. I came from one of the crummy US states, and going to UofT was actually cheaper than going to a public university in America (out of my state). However, you should also include McGill, University of Alberta, Queens, other good schools. If you're interested in health, look at McMaster. If you're interested in engineering or IT, look at Waterloo. In Canada, if you go to a decent university, the status of the school matters far less than in many other countries. It's just as important to look at the strength of its programs.

Ajjun