+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

CBSA and reprinting a study permit?????

Nollmm

Jul 18, 2015
Hello I am a second year UBC student attempting to get a job in Canada that I need a SIN for by, by August.

My study permit will not allow me to get a SIN because it says prohibited to work unless authorized however my study permit was issued in August, two months after the June update, which means it should NOT have been printed without working terms.

If I show up at the border in the airport, with all my documents, and ask CBSA to reprint my study permit with the correct lines of information will they? or will they say "thats not our department take it up with CIC"? It's there mistake so I'm wondering if I ask the officer super politely will they correct it?

kkloveit

Star Member
Jul 10, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Definitely weird. It's definitely worth a try, however I'm assuming you would be required to apply for a change of status kind of procedure.

Good luck!

Nollmm

Jul 18, 2015
ive been trying to do study permit amendments foreeeeeverrrr. They have declined it TWICE. On mistakes on CIC's side. Claiming I cant amend my study permit because I don't have a canadian mailing address despite the fact that the application has a space to put in your current mailing address, country, state, ect.

I don't want to have to apply a third time because I'm running out of time.

kkloveit

Star Member
Jul 10, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Why didn't you apply into the Coop program? UBC has one of the best Coop programs and the program comes with a Open Work Permit.

Nollmm

Jul 18, 2015