+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

- - CAPITAL GAINS Tax in Canada on Foreign Property When Exiting

us2yow

Dec 15, 2010
Hi, can someone here help out with the very specific question.

I am a Permanent Resident (PR) now residing here in Canada and own a property overseas (US). Right before I moved up to live here full time as PR and also to work towards citizenship, I had the value of my property appraised in the US (let's call my apartment's pre-move fair market value of appraisal - Value A).

When I ultimately exit Canada later on to move anywhere and relinquish all ties to be classfied as non-resident here in Canada - And my Questions start here:

1) Will I have to pay tax on the capital gains to Canada on my US property and can you give me a fair idea (no need to be super accurate) of how much capital gains percentage taxed in Canada is ?

2) What two amounts will be used to calculate difference for capital gains ? - A Value B (which is the new fair market assessment soon after I moved and wrapped up here?) MINUS Value A ??

3) As regards Value B in Question 3, when should that second fair market value assessment (represented by Value B) be conducted to be considered for Capital Gains calculation ? - is there some rigid rule that says the value as assessed within x no of months after leaving and declaring non-residency or x days ...ete etc? There must be something ? Or maybe not ?? Basically, How fluid or flexible is that time frame when the latest assessment needs to be conducted for capital gains.

4) Finally, for the iniitial value in the Capital Gains calculation described above, is Value A the correct one to be used ? My reasoning is because that is the Value of the Apt as assessed right around when I moved up to Canada to live here full time for tax purposes and after which I also filed my very first Canada Tax return as new PR. That is, If I moved Sep 2010 to Canada, the apt assessment was done say in July/August 2010.