+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Canadian Citizenship Application Question 10.b

sreeraj115@gmail.com

Oct 11, 2015
Hi,

While filling Citizenship application form, Question 10.b asks whether in past 4 years you were in a country other than Canada for 183 days or more in a row. I have been a Permanent Resident for 3 years and 6 months. I lived in India, my home country for 2 months before moving to Canada. Prior to that, I lived in Qatar for 5 years. If I am applying in August 2021 and consider past 4 years starting from August 2017, technically I lived in Qatar for 4 months i.e. 120 days. Can I opt 'No' in that case? Or do they consider from January 2017 onwards when they say past 4 years? I can wait until January 2022 to submit my application and avoid this whole confusion though.

rajkamalmohanram

VIP Member
Apr 29, 2015
Hi,

While filling Citizenship application form, Question 10.b asks whether in past 4 years you were in a country other than Canada for 183 days or more in a row. I have been a Permanent Resident for 3 years and 6 months. I lived in India, my home country for 2 months before moving to Canada. Prior to that, I lived in Qatar for 5 years. If I am applying in August 2021 and consider past 4 years starting from August 2017, technically I lived in Qatar for 4 months i.e. 120 days. Can I opt 'No' in that case? Or do they consider from January 2017 onwards when they say past 4 years? I can wait until January 2022 to submit my application and avoid this whole confusion though.
For this particular case : If the 4 year period is from August 2017 and you haven't lived in any country for more than 180 days in a row starting August 2017, you can answer "No" and you would not have to submit a PCC IMO.

BreakingBad

Oct 3, 2015
Mexico
Category........
FSW
Visa Office......
Mexico VO
NOC Code......