Waived
Passport Req..
18th March 2015
VISA ISSUED...
Should be in April 2015
LANDED..........
Mostly in June 2015
Hello,
I have few questions. please help me if you have any idea on this.

My wife is going to Canada on a student visa for 2 yrs course. we have US visit visa. I am applying for Canada visit visa after 2 months.

what are the chances of visa approval as I have US visit visa? will it help?

If I get visa, will it be for 3 months or 6 months?

Can I apply for Open work permit based on spouse student visa once I land in Canada on a visit visa? what are the chances of approval of open work permit? what if my visit visa expires and open work permit is still under progress? will I have to leave country?

Your guidance will be much appreciated.

Pippin

VIP Member
Mar 22, 2010
Jig nesh, I don't know why, but something is making me think you should apply for the open work permit at the same time your wife gets her study permit. I have no experience with study permits, but that came to my mind as soon as I read your post. Are you both visiting the US right now? If so, applying for a TRV from a country other than your home country might make it harder to convince the VO you will return home before the end of the visa. Maybe this is why I am thinking about getting the open work permit up front. Hope someone can come up with a concrete solution for you. Good Luck.

Pippin

VIP Member
Mar 22, 2010
http://www.canadavisa.com/canadian-immigration-open-work-permits.html
To be eligible for an Open Work Permit, the spouse or common-law partner of a foreign student cannot themselves be full-time students and must demonstrate that:
the foreign student is studying full-time at a diploma/degree-granting, publicly-funded post-secondary educational facility; or
the foreign student has graduated and is the holder of a valid work permit for a job related to his/her studies.