+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Can i start a self-employed business without SIN

elancesteve

May 8, 2018
I am a Canadian permanent resident but never stayed in Canada nor applied for SIN card. I was planning on making my move to Canada soon. Before that can i start a self-employed business without SIN. So that i can market myself. As soon as i land there, i will apply for SIN.

Please advise.

NetMecca

Dec 12, 2013
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
14-07-2009
No reason why it should not be possible. As long has you have some proof of identity (even a passport should do) and PR status, should not be a problem.

Reactions: mghaderi

elancesteve

May 8, 2018
Would you please guide me on how to get that process started? What all documents, paperwork is needed. Also how much time does this take to setup.

Thanks in advance

NetMecca

Dec 12, 2013
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
14-07-2009
Getting things set up usually does not take very long. Can have a business registered in a few days. Name search then register. I would suggest that you talk to a lawyer to help you since there are many legal and other aspects that you will need to consider when you start a business. Things like ownership structure, levels of risk you want, succession & family planning, type of business that you want to start. The lawyer may also expect you to talk to an accountant to make sure that your tax planning requirements are best addressed in your ownership structure.

Like a said. Best to get a lawyer to help you for a start. From there is should be fairly simple.

stuthibalaji

Sep 15, 2020