+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Can engineer apply for Trade certificate !

Yorker13

May 27, 2013
Hi all,

I have Bachelor of science in Engineering dicipline, and 10 years of experience, big part of these years I was working under title of Technician, now I am been in Canada for 3 years unemployed, I am now planning to apply for Ontario Association of Certified Technologist and Technicians to become a Certified Engineering Technologist (C.E.T.) or Certified Technician (C.Tech.).

I am not sure if my application will be accepted or not, since for a CET or CTECH the academic requirement is diploma while I have a bachelor which classifies me as engineer, so am I elgible to register with OACETT..!!?

what are the prospects of finding jobs in trades compared to engineering jobs.!!

I hope if anyone had made similar switch to share his/her experience.

pindu

Star Member
Jun 5, 2015
Category........
Visa Office......
NDVO
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
March-2015
AOR Received.
May-2015
File Transfer...
May-2015
Med's Request
20 jan 2016
Med's Done....
Dec.-2014
Interview........
waived
bro my advice for you not to apply in Ontario for technologist registration. Apply in ASET which is Alberta registration body, ASET registration process is smoother than ontario regulatory body after your registration you can transfer anywhere.

Yorker13

May 27, 2013
thx for ur advise pindu, may I know how you reached that ASET have smoother process than OACETT, i took a look at ASET website,somehow i felt they have more requirements than OACETT especially for applicants with foriegn education and experience, would love to know ur side of the story.

pindu

Star Member
Jun 5, 2015
Category........
Visa Office......
NDVO
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
March-2015
AOR Received.
May-2015
File Transfer...
May-2015
Med's Request
20 jan 2016
Med's Done....
Dec.-2014
Interview........
waived