+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Brought car into Canada five years ago

malaitaeagles

Jul 10, 2018
In 2013, I entered Canada on a work visa from the US. At that time, I brought a car (a European model) with me. When I declared the car at the border crossing, I vaguely remember being told that I couldn't sell the car unless I paid some sort of tax on it. Well, five years later, I am now a permanent resident, and would like to sell that car. Do I still have to pay that tax since I immigration status has changed?

links18

Champion Member
Feb 1, 2006
Did you import the vehicle back in 2013 or no? If not, the problem now is that you may have already violated the Customs Act and/or provincial law by keeping the car in Canada so long without officially importing it and may be subject to fines and or seizure of the vehicle when you try to legalize it. What plates did you keep on the car this entire time? What insurance did you have?

When you say it is a European model, do you mean manufactured in Europe for the US market or do you mean a European market vehicle? If it is the latter, then there are even more burdensome steps to get it imported and some cars may not even be admissible, unless the car is more than 15 years old.

Last edited:

zardoz

VIP Member
Feb 2, 2013
Canada
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
16-02-2013
VISA ISSUED...
31-07-2013
LANDED..........
09-11-2013
In 2013, I entered Canada on a work visa from the US. At that time, I brought a car (a European model) with me. When I declared the car at the border crossing, I vaguely remember being told that I couldn't sell the car unless I paid some sort of tax on it. Well, five years later, I am now a permanent resident, and would like to sell that car. Do I still have to pay that tax since I immigration status has changed?
You should contact CBSA directly about this but I suspect that you will be liable for the tax regardless.

links18