+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

BC PNP or CEC - might get laid off

ktm_rider

Jan 21, 2014
Hello all,

I am new to Canada and the immigration system here. I would like to say that this is by far the BEST forum out there on Canadian immigration.

Now to my questions. So, i came to BC as a Mechanical Engineer on a work permit through my employer. They put in a LMO and got approved and hence i got the work visa.

I started working late May and now my employer has agreed to file for a BCPNP for myself. However, things are a bit shaky at work and am not sure if i will have a job through this employer throughout the duration of my PNP application and PR application. I think the total time is somewhere around 15-16 months.

I also qualify for a CEC in 4 months from now. I understand that i have to take an English test. I went to USA for my degree, do i still have to take the english test?

So, i am in a dilemma as to whether wait for 4 months and apply for CEC which has a lower approval rate or go forth with BC PNP which has a higher rate of approval. I am thinking of applying for BC PNP and waiting it out and also applying for CEC when i qualify for it.

Can i apply for CEC and BC PNP at the same time? What would the process be? Also do i have to be in Canada to apply for CEC?

Thanks in advance

spookyb

Mar 13, 2013
Category........
Visa Office......
CPP-O
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
12-Feb-2013
AOR Received.
22-Mar-2013
Med's Request
06-Dec-2013
Med's Done....
16-Dec-2013
Passport Req..
24-Mar-2014
VISA ISSUED...
31-Mar-2014
LANDED..........
10-Apr-2014
ktm_rider said:
Hello all,

I am new to Canada and the immigration system here. I would like to say that this is by far the BEST forum out there on Canadian immigration.

Now to my questions. So, i came to BC as a Mechanical Engineer on a work permit through my employer. They put in a LMO and got approved and hence i got the work visa.