+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Authorized to study or not-Unclear OWP condition-Common-law Inland

Kits

Apr 7, 2019
Hi everybody,

I've read different threads in this forum, also, I searched in google, and I haven't been able to find answers for some important questions. I will really appreciate your help.

I am an International student enrolled in my last course which started before I applied for the PR and it will finish in August. Also, my study permit it is still valid until November and I let immigration office know that I am a student, it is in the OWP application. I am the PA in the sponsorship common-law inland application. I already received the AOR and I just received the OWP, but in my OWP there is a condition which says that "unless authorized, prohibited from attending any educational institution, or taking any academic, professional or vocational training course". Also, at the bottom of the document, in Remarks/Observations, it says: "Temporary resident status maintained as per R183(6), Pending FC APR."

Then, I have the following questions.

1. They added the condition "unless authorized, prohibited from attending any education institution..." and, also, in Remarks/Observations, "Temporary resident status maintained as per R183(6), Pending FC APR.". Does this mean that I am authorized to study because I retain my status according to the section 183(6) of the Canada’s Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) "the temporary resident retains their status, subject to any other conditions imposed, during the extended period"? Or, am I not authorized because it is subject to any other conditions imposed, but also it says unless authorized? Duh!

2. Is my student permit still valid or not because I got the OWP? I want to know it because I am not sure if I should notify MSP and send my OWP.