+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Authorization to Enter Canada

Geust1985

Sep 28, 2008
Hello,

I am an international student at York University but currently I am abroad. I would like to hear your advice on a personal matter of mine.

While I was attending York University, my parents applied for a refugee status in 2004. I was still young, about 17 or 18 years of age and obviously as a child, I followed my parents and joined them in their claim as their dependent child. The claim was refused and I, along with them, got a departure notice. We all left on the date we were given; so I do not have any legal issues with the Canadian immigration.

As far as I know I need to fill out a form the Canadian Embassy in Tel Aviv, Israel issues in cases when people want to request a permission to enter Canada . I have to go through an interview with an immigration officer to get a written consent that I am entitled to enter Canada .

Now I am 22, in November I will be 23 years old. Two years had passed since the departure date. Shortly after I returned to Israel I joined the army for personal reasons. I have one more year and two months until my duty as a soldier ends. I have all the paper work from the army that I can go abroad for a vacation. I would like to come to Canada and visit my family from my mom’s side – uncle and aunt, my best friends, and go to YorkU to settle things towards the year 2009 when I will be coming back to continue my studies. This is a visit that will take no longer than two weeks.