+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Aussie-American Applying for PR & work permit - need advice

Tania

Jul 23, 2009
We're new to this forum & I'm hoping someone out there can give us some advice.

My partner is an holds both Australian & American citizenship. He was in the process of moving from Australia back to the US when he visited friends in Canada, met me & decided he'd rather stay here.

He now wants to apply for PR & I am more than happy to sponsor him.

The catch is that I am only legally seperated from my X at this time (but getting the paperwork done for a divorce). My partner & I haveonly been together for 8 months & I'm still getting on my feet financially in regards to the divorce so I do have income but it's fairly low right now.

My partner is a jeweler & artist by trade so he's not a 'skilled' worker by their definition.

My partner has no family in Canada to sponsor him. Can we get a friend or someone in my family (ie: someone who has more income than I do) to co-sponsor?

Thanks for any help you may have.

GK

Dec 18, 2007
Category........
Visa Office......
Detroit
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
01-06-2008
Passport Req..
20-07-2008
VISA ISSUED...
01-08-2008
LANDED..........
01-10-2008
1) You have to complete your divorce and be legally divorced before you can sponsor
2) In order to claim common law you have to be living together for 1 year and be able to prove that with joint accounts, credit cards, lease etc
3) In order to sponsor a spouse (husband, wife or same-sex partner) you have to be legally married
4) CIC doesn not allow any co-sponsorship

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
You don't need income to sponsor a spouse or a common law. I am not sure if you have to be legally divorced to sponsor a common law but you would have to live together for 12 months and be able to prove it. You don't need to be married to him to sponsor him. Common law is enough.

Tania