+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Are there any Tax Deductions for Canadian PR?

KevinsJane

Star Member
Apr 21, 2009
Canada
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
I'm a Canadian Permanent Resident ;); landed November of 2009, sponsored by my Canadian Husband. I have a few tax filing questions:

1)Are we able to claim any of the immigration fees; filing, medical, criminal checks, etc. (receipts in hand)

2)Are we able to claim any of my moving expenses to Canada; meals, lodging, rental vehicle? (receipts in hand)

3)Are we able to claim monies my husband sent to me while I maintained a residence in the US, for living costs; while I was awaiting on my file to be accepted?

4)If not, are we able to claim any of that money as a gift from husband to wife? What is the max that can be claimed? (we have the copies of the Canadian Bank based checks cashed; which were deposited into my American Bank Account)

4)As far as charitable. what is the max we can claim? Once I arrived, we combined our households. We donated practically a 1-bedroom apartment furnishings to Value Village. (still looking for the receipt)

5) When filing it asks if I am a Canadian Citizen...based on some of the mix terminology...I believe I would answer no?

I appreciate your time and knowledge on any 'possible' tax deductions we are missing!

Thank You,
KJ

toby

Champion Member
Sep 29, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
Hong Kong
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
November 2009
Med's Done....
October 2009 and 15 April 2011
Interview........
4 April 2011
Passport Req..
4 April 2011
VISA ISSUED...
7 July 2011
LANDED..........
15 July 2011
I'm a Canadian Permanent Resident Wink; landed November of 2009, sponsored by my Canadian Husband. I have a few tax filing questions:

1)Are we able to claim any of the immigration fees; filing, medical, criminal checks, etc. (receipts in hand)