+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applying in LA office from Canada for Study permit with SX-1 visa

molotoff1984

Star Member
Jan 11, 2013
Hi,

I need to clarify the following information found on LA consulate site:

The visa office in Los Angeles accepts the following applications:

Temporary Resident Visas from people in the USA.
Study Permits and Work Permits from people in the USA West of the Mississippi River*, and from people in Canada on valid visitor status.

I am an international student in Canada on short-term courses (less than 6 months) and have student visa (coded as SX-1) in my passport, but don't have study permit as I don't need it for these studies. Now my intention is to attend long-term courses in Canada (more than 6 months), therefore I need to apply for study permit in the office outside of Canada.

Can I be counted under category 'people in Canada on valid visitor status' and apply for study permit in LA office by mail?

Thanks for your answer in advice, guys.

krtecek

Jan 11, 2013
Hi,
I am in the very same situation right now.
If you are coded as SX-1, your status is a visitor. SX-1 is a "Student exempt from the requirement to obtain a study permit."
Therefore, I sent my application for a study permit to LA before Christmas. They returned it yesterday, saying, that as I am in Canada, I am supposed to send my application to the Pilot center in Ottawa. So I called to a Canadian visa office and I was told that as a visitor, I can't send my application to an office inside of Canada. They suggested to contact LA and ask them about it. I have written an email to LA today and I'm waiting for a response now.
It is confusing. I think I will end up sending an on-line application, even though according to the immigration website I am not eligible to do so.

molotoff1984

Star Member
Jan 11, 2013