+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applying for only myself OR with boyfriend?

Velma

Jun 6, 2018
Hi guys, with an updated IELTS score I am expecting an ITA next week, but this week I started to hesitate whether to apply for only myself or with my boyfriend. Would love to hear what you guys think since I am an EE beginner. Thanks!

Background:
1. CRS 505 if I apply as single; 494 for me as primary and him as secondary (so both cases an ITA is gettable)
2. It seems impossible for my boyfriend to apply on his own, since it's hard for him to get a good IELTS score
3. We are not married yet, but are planning to get married next year

My concerns:
1. I'm not sure if risks of getting PR successfully (and/or the whole processing time) will be increased if two persons' files are reviewed than only one
2. On the other hand, I am worried it might be difficult for my boyfriend to find a job in Canada with only work permit rather than PR (if I get my PR and then marry him then he apply for a work permit)
3. We need to get married NOW if we were to apply together (which kind of changes the original plan, but is acceptable anyway)

What do you guys think?
Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

Last edited:

viki1805

Jun 13, 2018
Category........
FSW
NOC Code......
App. Filed.......
12-06-2018
Hi guys, with an updated IELTS score I am expecting an ITA next week, but this week I started to hesitate whether to apply for only myself or with my boyfriend. Would love to hear what you guys think since I am an EE beginner. Thanks!

Background:
1. CRS 505 if I apply as single; 494 for me as primary and him as secondary (so both cases an ITA is gettable)
2. It seems impossible for my boyfriend to apply on his own, since it's hard for him to get a good IELTS score

My concerns:
1. I'm not sure if risks of getting PR successfully (and/or the whole processing time) will be increased if two persons' files are reviewed than only one