+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applying for CEC as research assistant (NOC 4012)

googler

Star Member
Nov 1, 2012
Hello guys

I have some questions about applying under CEC after I read through this forum.

As you know, the new regulation from January 2013 will be requiring one year of full time experience for foreign workers to be eligible to apply under CEC.
I am doing my masters currently and I have been Research Assistant (RA) since January 2012. I receive salary for that job as well as pay tax and CPP. My intention is to apply under CEC as of January 2013 with this one year experience.
However, I intend to emphasize in my file that I am more like a worker who is studying (part-time) beside working as Research Assistant, rather than a student who is also working as an RA. Job description for NOC 4012 (Research Assistant) says that enrolment in a university program is required (which is the case for me). And since I am only working on-campus, a valid study permit should give me legal status to work.

Considering that I have a reference letter from my supervisor professor indicating my job as full-time, the amount of salary and detailed job duties, do you believe that such file is meeting all the requirements of CIC? Any advice in this regard is appreciated, specially based on the successful applicants you might have seen.

googler

Star Member
Nov 1, 2012
Thank you eng3a for your prompt response.

I have another question regarding the salary: I read in the forum that monthly salary should match the minimum hourly wage and total monthly hours worked. My monthly income is consisted of salary and bursary, which will be reflected in T4 and T4A tax slips (I have not received my tax slips for 2012 yet, so not sure 100%). Does CIC consider only the salary portion as eligible income which should meet the minimum wage? How about if I add a line in my reference letter which indicates my gross monthly salary, say $2500?