+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applying for a study permit after an overstay.

KatiePeters

Feb 21, 2016
Hi everyone!

I've read all I could find online on getting a visa to Canada after an overstay and there's a lot of conflicting information out there and it seems like most of it are just speculations. I ask anyone who had a personal experience with this or knows some real life stories about overstay and visa approvals/refusals to comment in here.

My story in short:

I studied in Canada for a few years and had several study permits and was compliant with each of them (never overstayed before). I had only 2 semesters left until the completion of my degree when my new study permit was denied (my fault - I didn't submit one of the documents). Then, I overstayed for 11 months and the reason for overstay was that at the time I'd be in danger if I returned to my country (I can back that up with the documents). Now I have been back in my country for 7 months and I am working here and planning on applying for a new study permit to finish my studies.

So my question is: considering my previous history in Canada (that I didn't break any rules before) and that I can explain my overstay and show strong ties to my country how likely is it that my study permit will be approved? (Also, I didn't study pr work illegaly when my study permit expired). Have you heard of any similar cases and are most of the applications of "overstayers" denied or can they be approved?

Thank you :)

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Hi

KatiePeters said:
Hi everyone!

I've read all I could find online on getting a visa to Canada after an overstay and there's a lot of conflicting information out there and it seems like most of it are just speculations. I ask anyone who had a personal experience with this or knows some real life stories about overstay and visa approvals/refusals to comment in here.

My story in short: