+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

AOR and formalities

oasis.gc1

Star Member
Jan 3, 2015
Hi,

I am new to this game, so please bear with me.

Can someone please tell me what AOR means, I know its acknowledgment of receipt, but

1) When is it issued?
2) Can anything be done to expedite the AOR?

Cheers

arowberry

Nov 25, 2012
Calgary
Category........
Visa Office......
Sydney, Nova Scotia
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
17-03-2014
AOR Received.
04-04-2014
Med's Request
26-09-2014
Med's Done....
03-10-2014
LANDED..........
27-11-2014
The AOR is essentially a notification from the CIC that your application appears to be complete and that your appear to be eligible for the PR stream that you have applied under.

Prior to 2015, Canadian Experience Class (CEC) applications were submitted to Sydney, Nova Scotia. The staff in Sydney would check the application to make sure everything is there and check the work experience to make sure the person appears to have the required experience to be eligible. Applications that were complete were sent onto Ottawa for proper processing and the applicant would be sent their AOR.

In 2015, with Express Entry things different as the applications are made online and the CIC basically declare a person is eligible for PR when send them an Invitation to Apply (ITA). In these cases (again I'm focusing on CEC PR) once an applicant submits their application following receiving an ITA, they are automatically (?) sent an AOR.

There isn't really anything to speed up getting an AOR under the new system, it seems that you will receive it promptly after submitting your application.

oasis.gc1

Star Member
Jan 3, 2015
Thanks for the note.

So, Am I right in the flow?

Profile Creation on EE ----> ITA -------> AOR

Between ITA and AOR - one has to do medical and police verification.

Does this make sense?

thanks

arowberry

Nov 25, 2012
Calgary
Category........
Visa Office......