+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Any USA Citizens Applying for Canadian PR?

necie12888

Dec 7, 2015
Hello, all.

I've been snooping around this forum for about 3 years now and I finally decided to create a post. Happy me! Lol.

It would be great to connect with other USA citizens in order to share our experiences with the Express Entry service.

I currently reside in North Carolina. I plan to migrate with my three teenagers to London, Ontario in 2016. It's crunch time! My oldest turns 19 in JUNE so I'm in a hurry. I completed my EE application in October but I only have 430 points. I've considered taking the French exam but my French is horrible. So the next step is to find employment OR reapply through EE and apply for Ontario OINP.

Curious, will I get another OINP invitation if I cancel my current EE application and reapply? I wasn't expecting an invitation from OINP and now I am regretting allowing the 45 days to pass without applying through that program. Honestly, I didn't have all of my ducks in a row. I have some work to do in order to get all of my professional references. I am in the IT industry (IT Project Manager).

It would be great to read about successful USA applicants and their experiences. I tried to search for some but most are pre- the new EE process.

Necie

anarsoul

Jul 12, 2014
Hi Necie,

Out of curiosity - what's the point in moving to Canada from USA? AFAIK IT job market is a lot larger in USA.

necie12888

Dec 7, 2015
Hello. :)

Thanks for responding to my very first post here.