+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

American / Canadian immigration questions

jbond

Sep 29, 2008
Hi folks,
I am an American citizen and plan on getting engaged to a Canadian woman in the next 3 months. I am a consultant by trade, and plan on working in the US, but live in Toronto. My soon to be fiance plans to continue working in Toronto for at least the next 5 to 7 years.
If the plans are to get married in a year or so and make Toronto my residence for at least the next 5 to 7 years:
1. What documents need to be filed to satisfy the immigration laws within Canada?
2. Since we both have assets in each country, can anyone recommend a law firm that could tackle the immigration and financial issues within the US and Canada, related to this arrangement?
3. We are most probably going to settle down in the US, down the road. One of the issues that came up in our discussion was the health plan that is available to Canadian citizens. Can a Canadian citizen who has paid into the health system all her life, use its benefits if she resides in the US?
4. Is it possible to have Dual citizenships?

Thanks for all the assistance.

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..