+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Am I in danger of Being Issued a Departure Order?

Frank Thomas

Apr 15, 2019
Greetings,

-I have been a permanent resident since the summer (August) of 2015. On the day when I became a landed Immigrant that summer, I was only able to stay in Canada for about eight days during my vacation because I still had a job in my country.

-In 2016, I returned to Canada but ended up only being able to stay for a month because all my attempts at getting a job in my field as well as the responses from potential employers, were taking too long and I still had a job in my country which I would have lost if I stayed indefinitely.

-In 2017, my wife gave birth and so there was no way for me to travel at all to Canada to even show some presence.

- I fully moved to Canada just before mid June of last year and planned to do the full minimum of two years (730 days) in the territory without traveling. However, there is a situation that requires me to travel very quickly in the month of July to see my family for 20 days and then return to Canada.

How do you guys assess my situation? Am I setting myself up automatically to receive a potential departure order or removal order from CBSA at the airport when I return to Canada after the 10 days of absence? I would have already done a year within the territory by the time I travel in early July. If the risk of receiving a possible departure upon my return is very high, maybe I might as well just start getting my stuff ready to leave and not return.

Bs65

VIP Member
Mar 22, 2016
You have until July/August 2020 to meet the 2 out of 5 year residency obligation. Your residency days count is a bit confusing but if you will have already have a year accumulated by July , seems possibly 14 months , then you can still just about meet the residency obligation by returning and staying put through August 2020.