+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Already have a bachelor degree... but want to get a diploma in another field

yape

Sep 15, 2013
I have a bachelor degree in finance, and after my graduation, I've been working in the bank for 4 yrs in my country.

Studying abroad has always been my dream, but I don't want to study finance anymore.

I'm a person with broad interests, and have been attending some cabinetmaking and carpentry courses in a wood studio in my leisure time. I'd like to get further education in the carpentry field. And since I admire the heritage houses in Canada very much, I would like to study in Canada to learn more about the traditional carpentry technics of this country.

And now I've got enough saving for it! ;)
I plan to quit my job and persuit my dream.

After doing some research, I've decided to apply for "Carpentry and Joinery – Heritage" which is a 2yrs diploma program in Algonquin College. :)

To get the skill training is my main purpose. But I also plan to apply for a 3yrs PGWP after I get the diploma...and maybe apply for PR if everything goes smoothly.

But after going through some of the threads on this forum, I found that there would be a problem in applying student visa in my case... ::)

There were people who already has a bachelor degree applying for a diploma program got their study permit rejected for reasons like:"not satisfied that your proposed course of studies makes sense"

--CIC thought they should apply for a "post graduate program", instead of stepping down to a "diploma", it's not making sense to them! :mad:

I wonder in my case, will there be a problem applying for a study permit? Has anyone in situation like this got your study permit successfully?

starlettedouze

Star Member
Jul 10, 2013
Category........
CEC
App. Filed.......
07-03-2017
AOR Received.
17-03-2017