08-May-2016
Passport Req..
26-Oct-2016
VISA ISSUED...
1-Nov-2016
LANDED..........
January 14, 2017. Praise God!
Hi all,

I'll be landing in Calgary a week from today (praise God!). I've sold my car so I can buy one as soon as I get there and I wanted to ask a couple of questions for anyone who has gone through the process of obtaining an Albertan driver's license (a normal Class 5 license). Sadly, I am not from a country with a reciprocal license exchange agreement with Canada, so I won't be able to just exchange my current license for an Albertan license. I've been driving for almost 11 years now, so I am not scared of the driving test; however, I wanted to see if anyone has any comments about the process/test.
Also, I understand that I need to provide a proof of residence. Since I want to get my license right away, and since I don't have a permanent place to stay yet, I was wondering if a hotel/Airbnb reservation (along with my landing record of course) would be sufficient proof of my living in Alberta. If not, does anyone know what else I could do? I already have a bank account in Scotiabank, so I guess I could always have them add my Airbnb address to my account and print a document that shows that address. Would that work? Otherwise, must I wait until I have permanent accommodations or at least some kind of statement/bill before I get my license? I know I have 90 days to get my license after I arrive in Alberta, but I also know that I'll need some kind of ID for most of the stuff I have to do after landing, so it would be nice to have a local government ID as soon as possible.

Thanks in advance for any help/comments!

Gregor.Samsa

Feb 7, 2015
Alberta
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
2016-03 (EE), TFW since 2012-04
VictorCA said:
Hi all,