+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Advice Needed - Calgary

ladygeneral

Sep 21, 2010
Dear all,

I have just joined this forum. I am a Singaporean, married with a 4 year old son. I do not support the educational system in Singapore and will like to migrate to Canada - Calgary. I am currently a registered nurse and studying for a Phd on a part-time basis. My husband is a lecturer on a bond that will end in 3 years time. By that time, my son will be almost 7 and we hope that we would be in Calgary around that time.

I will like to find out roughly when I should start applying for skilled worker visa? I mean roughly how long will the entire process take?

Secondly, is it tough looking for nursing or counselling work at Calgary?

Kindly help and advise. Thanks in advance.

tran

May 10, 2009
http://www.canadavisa.com/canada-immigration-discussion-board/singaporean-applicants-under-fsw-t24280.420.html

As a registered nurse, it is easy to get a PR; especially under provincial nominee program.
You, as the principal applicant, and your husband as the dependent.

jeby

Jan 19, 2010
Kerala, India
Category........
Visa Office......
New Delhi
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Med's Request
15-12-2009
Med's Done....
11-01-2010
Passport Req..
15-12-2009
VISA ISSUED...
22-02-2010
Dear Ladygeneral,

Apply for PR as early as possible. Rules may change at any time. As posted by Tran, it is easy now, but there is no guarantee that, it will remain same in future....

abelkwh

Jul 30, 2009
Yes, u should apply asap, u can opt for FSW or provinical nominee program, PNP program is very much faster, in provinces such as Manitoba, Saskatchewan, it takes less than 1 yrs to get yr PR if u apply as a nurse. There is a serious shortage of qualified nurses in these provinces and Canada in general.