+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Will a previous F1 Visa Refusal have a negative impact on my Canadian Student Visa Permit application?

WakeUpp

Aug 27, 2023
Hi to all. I studied in the US under a F1 Visa and left the country within the allowed grace period. After, I applied to study another program and on the interview the Visa Officer determined that I don’t needed to study that program and cancelled my student visa, but left the visitor visa active. After a couple months, my visitor visa expired, went to the embassy and got it approved.

I’m seriously considering going to study to Canada, but I’m a little bit worried about my student visa permit application since I heard that American & Canadian embassies frequently exchange information.

Will a previous Visa Refusal have a negative impact on my Canadian Student Visa Permit application?

Side Note: I haven’t committed any crimes or violations of the law neither in the US or my home country.

Thank you all!

Canada2020eh

Champion Member
Aug 2, 2019
Hi to all. I studied in the US under a F1 Visa and left the country within the allowed grace period. After, I applied to study another program and on the interview the Visa Officer determined that I don’t needed to study that program and cancelled my student visa, but left the visitor visa active. After a couple months, my visitor visa expired, went to the embassy and got it approved.

I’m seriously considering going to study to Canada, but I’m a little bit worried about my student visa permit application since I heard that American & Canadian embassies frequently exchange information.

Will a previous Visa Refusal have a negative impact on my Canadian Student Visa Permit application?

Side Note: I haven’t committed any crimes or violations of the law neither in the US or my home country.

Thank you all!
Immigration in the US and Canada do share info along with many other countries.