+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

which method use to apply for permanent residency?

darxider

Star Member
Aug 9, 2013
hi all,

i am a post-doc in Canada (Quebec, to be more specific), having completed a year of full-time appointment as of three months ago. i am considering applying for permanent residency in Canada, but I'm not sure which method is the best.

i got a PhD in physics from USA, and moved to Canada to do a post-doc in genetics. my knowledge of english is excellent, but my french is currently basic (i took 3 semesters of french while in the US, and took a mini-course to freshen things up while in Canada, but i haven't taken any official french language tests).

considering that i can't apply using CEC since i live in Quebec (is that true?), and that i won't be eligible for PEQ since my knowledge of french is not strong enough, i currently have two options: (1) regular skilled worker, (2) spousal sponsorship. which one would be the best/fastest?

about the first option (skilled worker): am i eligible to apply through the federal skilled worker program even though i currently live in Quebec (so basically, from an eligibility perspective, is it like CEC or not)? given the recently announced changes to the Quebec skilled worker program, i think i am eligible to apply through that (have to confirm), but i don't know the difference between that and the federal one. anybody can enlighten me?

about the second option (sponsorship): how long will that take usually? my partner (who is Canadian) and i have been together for a long time now (and have enough documents to prove that), so i don't think there is a possibility of our case being rejected, but i'm concerned about the time-frame.

i'd really appreciate any and all help. cheers.

Lammawitch

Champion Member
Dec 21, 2014
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..