+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Visa Info

tharrison

Dec 20, 2009
Hi

I just wanted a bit of advise on Visas. I am a british citizen and i work in the UK. I am a chartered surveyor in commercial property valuation. I want to move to Canada (mainly for the snowboarding). I am 25 years old, have a batchelors degree and RICS diploma and 4 years work experience in surveying. I am listed on the Canadian NOC list as Class A NOC 1235, therefore I presume I am classed as a skilled worker. On the canadian embassy website if you take the immigration test I have to click the 'none of the above' on occupations as its not on the list (there is things like pysios, welders etc on one of the test pages...).

Anyway, if I am classed as a skilled worker I believe I have enough points to qualify as I score 68 IF a NOC 1235 counts as a skilled occupation they require. Could anyone tell me if they think I have a realistic opportunity of gaining immigration? The ideal situation would obviously be to have a job offer and i would get a visa no problem. I have spoken to employers and recruitment agents in Canada and it seems to be a bit of a chicken and egg situation. They would all be interested in speaking to me and believe I could be a good potential employee but without a legal right to work there they are understandably reluctant to start the whole process of sponsoring visas.

I looked at going on a Working holiday visa and trying to stay on but this i believe is not popular with the immigration service if i try and stay on on PNP programme and I would like to stay for good! Employers would also prefer a permanent visa.

How should I go about the application process? There are lots of agencies out there but I am very wary about the legitemacy of most of these.

Any advice would be really appreciated.

Cheers

Tom

rupeshhari

VIP Member
Sep 15, 2008
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..