+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

To maintain my Permanent Residence status

bristi

May 27, 2014
Hi..I am a permanent resident of Canada. I have first landed in Toronto, Canada in May 17th 2011. But I went back to Japan in 7th July 2011 after getting my PR card. The reason is I was doing PhD in Japan. In 24th May 2013 again I went back to Canada and stayed until 25th December 2013. Then due to some family problem I am now staying in my home country from 26th December 2013 to till now and will go back Canada in first week of November 2014. Now I am afraid whether I will be able to maintain my PR status or not. Please answer my query so that I can relief. For ur kind information my PR cards expiry date is 14th July 2016. Please let me know when will be better to go back Canada to maintain my PR status?

Really appreciate your all expert opinions in this regard!

meyakanor

Jul 26, 2013
Visa Office......
CPP-Ottawa
App. Filed.......
16-02-2012
Doc's Request.
26-02-2013
AOR Received.
21-03-2012
Med's Request
21-03-2013
Passport Req..
16-04-2013
VISA ISSUED...
29-04-2013
LANDED..........
16-05-2013
Since you have been a PR for less than five years, then you must show that you will still be able to accumulate 731 days before the completion of your fifth year as a PR. In this case, by May 16 2016, you need to still be able to accumulate 2 years (or 731 days).

If you have been a permanent resident for less than five (5) years
you must show that you will be able to meet the minimum of 730 days of physical presence in Canada within five (5) years of the date you became a permanent resident.

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/information/applications/guides/5445ETOC.asp#appendixA
So your days in Canada so far:

May 17 2011 - July 6 2011 (50 days)
May 24 2013 - December 25 2013 (215 days)