lahorimunda

Star Member
Jun 1, 2008
Canada
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
London
I contacted my department for a letter stating whether I am doing a full time TA/RA or a part time. They did not know whether it is full time or part time. The confusion is that if I am studying full time it means I cannot work full time. But if I am not studying full time I cannot be an RA/TA so what is the definition of full time RA/TA according to CIC.

Thank you in advance.

kisunja

Star Member
Nov 2, 2008
for CIC full time is at least 30 hours per week. if you were studying full-tiime in Canada, you probably had up to 15 paid h/week of RA/TA duties (they looking at the paid hours only).

lahorimunda

Star Member
Jun 1, 2008
Canada
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
London
I agree with you that it is 30 hrs/week but the question is that the university does not appoint anyone as a TA/RA only. One has to be enrolled as a full time student to be RA/TA. The contract says that a student can be assigned to a maximum of 12 hrs/week. This can never go up. So it means there is nothing which can be called a full time TA/RA. The department will not mention whether it is full time or part time on the letter but will only state that I am a full time student and also working as a RA/TA for which I am getting paid.

jes_ON

VIP Member
Jun 22, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
New York
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-May-2010
AOR Received.
13-Aug-2010
File Transfer...
01-Mar-2011
Passport Req..
30-Jun-2011
VISA ISSUED...
12-Jul-2011 (received 25-Jul-2011)
LANDED..........
03-Sep-2011
Full time employment is at least 37.5 hours per week. Unless you can document 37.5 hours a week, you are not full-time in the eyes of CIC. It matters not what the university thinks.

But it doesn't really matter whether it is full-time or part-time, as long as you accumulate the equivalent number of hours.

The OP 6 was updated 04/2010 -