+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Questions regarding SP and its application

informer2000

Star Member
Oct 6, 2008
Hi,

Here is my case. I'm a 28 years old, single, graduate student. I hold a masters degree and was hoping to continue my studies in a Canadian university. I've been recommended for admission in a PhD program at a university in BC with a financial aid offer of $19,000/year. The semester starts January 5th.

My parents are retired and I have a cousin who has immigrated to Canada and is now a Canadian citizen. But he lives in Montreal and I'll not be relying on him for any help since he will be very far away. His sister has applied before for a visiting visa but was rejected because the officer was not convinced she had ties that will make her return back. Currently, I'm a research assistant at a university in my country.

I will be applying for a Study Permit, hopefully this month. And I was hoping someone could help me with the following three questions:

1. When answering Q.12 in the application form, sections (c) to (g), should I mention the cases of my cousin and his sister? I mean should I answer them with their cases in mind? According to the application guide (IMM 5269E), family members are the immediate members of my family. So, do they qualify as being a family member?

2. Will my current position as a research assistant at the university in my country be considered work? Or will they consider me as being without a job? And if so, will that affect the officer's decision?

3. What is considered an acceptance letter? I currently only have an offer letter from the university. Is that it? Or will I need another letter after accepting the offer?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Definition of immediate family member as per http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/information/applications/guides/5351E3.asp