+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PR Status

TKY

Mar 6, 2015
I landed with my wife and son in Canada in Dec 2011 and immediately returned to my home country.

I relocated my family in Mar 2013 and they have been in Calgary to date.

I am an Engineer and still work in home country and have been going back and forth Canada since moving family in 2013. I did apply for my PR in 2007 but did not come through till 2011. Between that time I got a very good job in home country. When I landed in 2011 i wasn't too sure I was going to proceed relocating family. I have been doing very well at workplace

I still work in home country mainly for 2 reasons: Firstly, cos I have a very good job which I have been sustaining my family with and secondly I needed the earnings to support my ill father. My wife could not find work until recently and moving to Canada without any of us having a job to sustain family was not an option.

Considering my going back and forth due to the reasons above I will not be able to meet my residency obligation of 730 days

It got a bit complicated cos I lost my PR card last year and applied for a replacement card (albeit with a new expiration of Dec 2019)

It seems due to this I have been flagged on the system and have always been referred to immigration anytime I am returning to the country. I was warned during my last entry a week ago that I may be reported on my next trip.

I understand the requirements for keeping my PR status but current situation makes difficult. How long can I hold this off. i.e reporting me?. The officer did mention cause my family is in Canada they were reluctant to report but will happen if i continue to go back and forth.

I plan to make a decision in the next couple of years either to relocate my family back or i do same to Canada. How long can I hold off for?. Cant i be allowed entry at least till my 5 years is up after when i wld have made a decision on the future?...Appreciate feedback

zardoz