+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Post graduate work permit after 180d of study permit expiration

changgong123

Jun 12, 2013
Hi, I wonder if anyone can offer some experiences on this issue.

I graduated from a Canadian school in June (now it's end of Sep), so I'm still in the 180d period for a post-graduation work permit application. However, I discovered on CIG website that
"You have 180 days after your school issues your final marks to apply for a post-graduation work permit (PGWP).
However, to be eligible, your study permit must have been valid within 180 days preceding your PGWP application."

I didn't know such a requirement on study permit. My study permit expired in Feb, so now it's one month over the 180d period. I left Canada before the Feb, in another word, I didn't over-stay my study permit. I planned to go back in Apr or May for defense and get a study permit at the port of entry. Obviously, the school was shut down due to COVID and I didn't make the trip. I ended up defend online and graduated in June.

From the GIC website, it seems that I won't be qualified for a PGWP. Still, I just want to hear any experience on this. I also kinda hope if I show up at the border (I have job offer from Canada lined up) to apply for a PGWP, they might give me an exemption because of the COVID. Or should I just apply online with an letter of explanation? Also, I wonder if I apply and pay it online first, then if I get to the border, would the immigration officer at the border be able to finish my online application on site?

I appreciate any suggestions or comments. Thanks.

Impatient Dankaroo

VIP Member
Jan 10, 2020